Concise history of modern music from Debussy to Boulez.

By: Griffiths, Paul.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: 1978; Thames & Hudson. ISBN: 0500201641.Subject(s): MusicDDC classification: 789.06GRI
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Standard Loan Book Standard Loan Book AUB Library
Book 789.06 GRI (Browse shelf) Available 027067
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Beginning at the threshold of the modern era, with the late Romanticism of Debussy and Mahler, the author traces the new directions of music through composers such as Alban Berg and Anton Webern, Charles Ives, Edgard Varese and Olivier Messiaen, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Pierre Boulez, Philip Glass and Elliott Carter. The various paths are made clear by a concentration on the major works and turningpoints in the music of our time: the new rhythmic force that came in with The Rite of Spring, the unbounded universe of Schoenberg's atonality, the undreamed-of possibilities opened up by electronics, the role of chance in the music of John Cage and the astonishing diversity of minimalism.